Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

M82, 81 & 106

Tzetze

Here's a couple of shots from over the last week or so. I'm not sure about the colour balance in these images. I'm shooting through a skywatcher light pollution filter with daylight white balance. In processing, I lined up the peaks of the colour channels. Should I bring the blue channel down some?

9x 600s subs

8275346386_1cbbf03b00_c.jpg

39x 600s subs

8275349324_ae163a1168_c.jpg

M106 09/12/12 by .Tzetze., on Flickr

450D, SW ED80, CG5, PHD-Guided

(50 darks, 25 flats and 50 bias in each image)

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Very nice images Tzetze, I especially like the M106 one & the faint fuzzies you have captured.

I'm no expert but I think the reason they are a tad blue is because you have the wrong white balance set. The camera thinks that what it is seeing when you have the LP filter on is white but is actually tinted blue due to the filter. I use a CLS clip filter to solve my LP problem & my camera did the same until I solved it using a custom white balance.

To do this, I attached the camera to the scope & focus it as if imaging (I previously marked the focus tube on one occasion when I had accurately focused with a bahtinov mask) & then stretch a white T-shirt over the other end. Once this is done, point the camera at an evenly lit piece of clear sky, set the camera to Auto & take 2 or 3 images. Once this is done, go to the the white balance menu in settings & select custom white balance. The camera will then ask for an image as a reference so just select one of those just taken & it will use that as your reference. After all this is done, take an image in the same manner with your new white balance & you should now see that your colour has returned to normal.