SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hello From Surrey

Robny

Hello All

Just introducing myself

My name is Rob I'm married, no kids and 35 years old based in Dorking, Surrey and a total beginner. I've had an interest for such a long time, since childhood and owned many "cheap" telescopes (you know the ones). I'm currently reading forums (this being the best) books and websites trying to self study astronomy. Correctly or wrongly I have invested in some gear, just need to get out there and use it now.

I've emailed a couple of clubs in and around my local area waiting to get a reply so my first couple of times out is with some (hopefully) guidance from someone who knows what there doing. I've a pretty good idea, I've been doing LOTS of reading but it's good to have someone there as back up LOL. I purchased a SW Quattro S8 on an HEQ5 Pro mount with a Vixen Plossl 25mm EP and a laser collimator.

I've got my head round the collimation and i understand this would not be a scope recommended for a newb but I like to jump in at the deep end and I have a vested interest in doing imagine (eventually) probably upgrade to HEQ6 before then.

Anyway I started to waffle so what I meant to say was hello :smiley:

Rob

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply
welcome Rob to SGL

You mention imaging......welcome to the dark side of empty pockets and a large credit card bill :grin:

Velvet

Thanks for the welcome, yeah I know what I'm letting myself in for (I think). Getting imaging "stuff" after Christmas after what seems a small fortune for what I already have :D

Wife said I have to use what I already have before she releases my funds LOL. I'm a (was) a photographer by trade and studied photogtaphy at uni so it seemed the natural way to go.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2