NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Newcomer - Hi everyone

Norteme

Hi

I am completely new to astronomy and have a skywatcher 150p with GOTO. I was so amazed when I got to see Jupiter and 3 of its moons the other night for the first time, that I didn't even notice the cold :-)

I have a question about setting up my Goto correctly. Would somebody be able to suggest which is the best place to ask these sort of questions.

Also some recommendations for a good pair of binoculars that can I can hold would be appreciated- maybe 8x40?

Many thanks

Penny

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi and welcome to the forums.

The beginners section is right here: http://stargazerslounge.com/forum/183-beginners/ Maybe the equipment forum would be good for both questions? There are a lot of us who would be glad to help get you going with your GOTO.

Sorry to say I have no binos to recommend, but I'll eagerly await answers from others, since I'm getting peckish for a pair myself.

Welcome to SGL, Penny.

As regards the binoculars, I'd ask in the beginners' section and also perhaps have a look at this site which is run by an SGL member. 8x40 seems quite a small aperture to me. I know quite a few people go for 10x50s, but I'm certainly no expert.

James

Hi Penny

Welcome to the SGL.

I use some 10x50 bins for general use and some larger 15x70s for deep sky. I find the 10x50s easier to hand hold for long periods because of their relative lightness when compared to the larger pair.

8x40 would also make a great general pair me thinks :)