Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Barclays Bank - Photo on Bank Card... eventually

BlueAstra

I noticed the other day that Barclays offered a new service where they would print your own photo on your debit card. Great, I thought, an opportunity to put one of my images on my card. I went through the Barclays website, submitted the image (M42), edited it to fit the card and waited. Email back, image rejected, no reason given. I checked the T&Cs and could find nothing wrong, so I phoned the help line. After 40min and three people no one could give me a reason. I tried again, and again it was rejected. This time I sent an email to customer services, and the email response was that the image must have been downloaded from a copyrighted site and was therefore ineligible. I explained I was an amateur astronomer who took many images, and offered evidence to back this up. They accepted this and told me to re-apply. I did and it was rejected again. I rang customer service and spoke to the person who emailed me and explained everything again. This time she said to submit on a certain day and she would ensure the image was accepted. This I did and finally the card arrived a few days later. So if your're going to try this service be prepared for a cliff to climb!

Original Image:

M42composite2crop.jpg

Edited Card Image:

card.jpg

Odd how the banks seem to believe everyone must be a criminal. Someone should tell them it's not necessarily like that outside the bank.

(Yes, I know copyright infringement isn't strictly a criminal offence :)

James

The wait was certainly unfortunate, but a brilliant result. We should all get personalised cards with our own images, certainly makes it easier to security check:

Barclays Q) What is this a picture of?

Non-Astronomer A) Some colours and stars?

Barclays - Wrong answer.

:angel: