Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Tips for when your first ever telescope arrives

In 3 weeks I will be ordering a Dob 250 and looking for any tips on what to do when you receive your new scope - should I first try putting it together indoors or just wait till early evening and do it outside - silly and simple things like that really. Thanks.

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

As a newbie myself,I'd suggest get ready to be surprised by the size of the box,and the multitude of internal packaging-more boxes,bubble wrap etc.Give yourself PLENTY of room to lay out the various components.I'd suggest working indoors,at least for this first assembly.Read,and,if necessary re-read,the instructions carefully-hopefully they are clear (sometimes they seem as if they are third hand translations from Chinese!). Take your time-I guess that you will be itching to get things up and running,but savour this build time.ENJOY!!

As above really. I am a newcomer acquiring a 200P a fortnight ago. Having a packaging fetish I had a great time when the two boxes arrived opening up lots of packaging and putting together the mount and scope . Following advice on here I lined up the finderscope and then say back and enjoyed the asthetics of the beast. It was rainy. I would advise spending as much time as you can reading these forums which I have found invaluable, as well as my following purchase Turn Left at Orion.

I looked at the instructions for my telescope and nearly cried at the complexity. Then my genius son suggested Utube, sure enough, there were several clips showing exactly how to assemble it. There are also several posts on SGL demonstrating polar alignment, collimation etc, absolutely invaluable!