NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

New to site

Baz Pearce

Hi UK star gazers.

I'm new here today from Bolton, Lancs. Was directed here from the Astronomy.com forums, RE: the epetition on LP. Done and done :)

Lets all hope we can get somewhere with it.

I have an Astromaster 130MD EQ3-2. I'm pleased with the optics but the motor was next to useless, and the mount isn't any better. I'm hoping to get a goto AZ4 mount soon. Can't afford another OTA yet, but a 5" MAK would be nice when i can save more cash.

As for light pollution, you can see what i have to deal with here:-

Image hosting, free photo sharing & video sharing at Photobucket (3 images). Making planetary imaging rather pointless!

I have a Philips SPC900NC flashed webcam. I'm having reasonable success with Solar (baader film + ir cut filters), and Lunar imaging.

Albums on photobucket:-

Moon pictures by BazPearce - Photobucket

Sunspots pictures by BazPearce - Photobucket

Looking forward to some fun with more local amateurs here, as they are spread quite thin on Astronomy forum.

Regards,

Baz.

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Baz and welcome to the forum. The Astromaster scope isn't a bad performer but your right about the mount - way too twitchy, and the red dot finder - way to bright. I like the sound of the proposed new mount and the Mak is a very good performer, you would have a very combination with those two. Look forward to your questions and general chat.

Wishing you clear skies in the meantime!

James