NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hi from Sussex

wyx

Hi been lurking for a while. Don't have a scope yet but the night sky has always fascinated me and I have been inspired by a recent trip to herstmonceux observatory! Im hoping my kids will find it interesting too. Still deciding on a first scope.

Sent from my GT-I8150 using Tapatalk 2

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome Wyx! I went for a Skywatcher 200 Dob after browsing this site and getting advice. Someone not a million miles from me decided he wanted to go for imaging more and went for a Skywatcher 127Mak. Guess it depends what your interests are. I also spent a few months with binoculars and probably should have used them a bit longer before taking the plunge. My only advice, as I'm a complete beginner myself, is to take your time and try out different scopes if you can before buying.

Hello and welcome to SGL. When I was a lot younger, my grandad lived near to Lancing and we had several trips to Herstmonceaux. Back then, the Isaac Newton (90+ inch) telescope was there. Thankfully, it has now been sent to the Canary Islands where the skies are more favourable for such an amazing telescope. Looking forward to hearing how you get on after choosing a telescope. Another option is a decent pair of binoculars and a tripod. Very portable and good if you need to hop in the car for a dark sky.

Hi and welcome to the forum. Good idea to take your time and do the research. Hopefully that will include some observation evenings with your astro club or observing group so you can get your head round what the difference all those specifications make at the eyepiece. Please keep your questions coming.

Clear skies

James