Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

How Meticulous is Your Observational Log?

I use Starry Night Pro 6 Plus for logging my viewings. It keeps it all neat and tidy. And i can print it off whenever I need to.

How do others in the group record their sightings? And are you meticulous in detail, keeping everything in a folder with plastic inserts, or a bit gung-ho? eg bits of paper flying about everywhere.

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Fair amount of OCD involved! All notes are typed up using prefabricated templates. All docs are numbered and cross referenced. All objects logged in a spreadsheet seperately as well as in typed motes, so I can get a quick reference to when I last saw an object. All sketches scanned and then backed up onto an external drive.

I will get a life one day...maybe

Should mention I work as a quality manager so this stuff is second nature to me.

:icon_confused:

David

During a session, bits of paper that I can't read afterwards because I tried to write without light!

Afterwards, a hardback notebook.

The main body is like a diary. On a date, what I did and saw. Handwritten in a warm house either immediately on return, or the next day. A very informal record. It is though useful to look and see whether my skills have progressed, or whether I continue to make the same mistakes!

One page lists Messier objects with dates as I see them.

Another page shows dimmest stars identified with date & kit.

Yet another records close star splitting, with date and kit.

Hopefully the dim/close pages will eventually build to provide a measure of what I can achieve with different kit.

Fair amount of OCD involved! All notes are typed up using prefabricated templates. All docs are numbered and cross referenced. All objects logged in a spreadsheet seperately as well as in typed motes, so I can get a quick reference to when I last saw an object. All sketches scanned and then backed up onto an external drive.