Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Astronomy Magazines

Following on from my previous post regarding SGL and S@N, I wonder what astronomy magazines everyone buys? Sorry to be predictable but I have only ever bought S@N. , but don't know what format the other ones take. Obviously I assume the other ones are UK specific with UK relevant sky maps, data and information. S@N has been very informative thus far, but if anyone can recommend anything better then I would be interested in having a look.

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I used to buy the US magazines "Astronomy" and "Sky & Telescope" and I've got quite a few years back copies of "Astronomy Now" as well. I have to say that I find the web plus selected books provide most of the information I need to enjoy the hobby now so I've become an occasional purchaser of "Astronomy Now".

I have an Astronomy Now subscription and I buy S@N as long as it's on the shelves. I'd love to subscribe to S@N but the fake tax means it is cheaper for me to buy individual copies.

Any idea what this means?

All savings are calculated as a percentage of the Basic Annual Subscription Rate (BAR).

The UK BAR rate of Sky at Night is £54.00 .

Anyhoo, I like both mags personally one is a little lighter than the other.

I buy Astronomy now on a fairly regular basis but find myself more and more turning to the net. S&T's website is very good and I find a lot of the information from magazines is on there anyway. But have to agree with Kh3ldar, sometimes its nice to just sit down and flick through a mag

But have to agree with Kh3ldar, sometimes its nice to just sit down and flick through a mag

I agree - mags are also useful for ramming in a bag to take to work, on trains, weekends away in a tent, the toilet ahem bathroom. Places that I may worry about taking a laptop.

My wife thinks I have a magazine addiction anyway - I've normally got about 3 or 4 on the go on different topics.