Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Andromeda

Hi ,

I need some advice....I currently have a 6" Skywatcher Explorer with 10mm/25mm eyepieces and 2 x Barlow and am completely new to this game.

I spent about an hour tonight trying to locate the Andromeda Galaxy but to no avail. I know where to look (thanks Stellarium!) but just can't find it! Can someone let me know what exactly I should be able to see with my current set up and even better than that....how to see it!!!

As I said I am completely new to this so please make it an idiot proof guide!

Thanks very much for your help

Mark

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm just back from Croydon Astro Group, I was at Kenley, I asked to see the andromeda the guy replied saying, You won't see it for another 5 - 6 months. It comes in winter, You just missed it. So did I. lol

I might be wrong though but that's what I'm told. I have a book from Star Glazing Live from Paul, It says it comes Oct to Dec. North and South.

I just saw the Great Orion Nebulae though. WoW.

I'm just back from Croydon Astro Group, I was at Kenley, I asked to see the andromeda the guy replied saying, You won't see it for another 5 - 6 months. It comes in winter, You just missed it. So did I. lol

I might be wrong though but that's what I'm told. I have a book from Star Glazing Live from Paul, It says it comes Oct to Dec. North and South.

I just saw the Great Orion Nebulae though. WoW.

You were told that you have to wait 5-6 months to see M31?

Thats RUBBISH.

Its right up there below Cassiopeia.

I've been out there myself tonight. It's not the brightest thing in the sky by a long long way, but if you're used to spotting "smudges" you've got a chance! I waited until later into the night - around midnight in the NW sky just to the side of Cassiopeia just as Paul said.