Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First dslr purchase

Hi all, I'm currently totally new to all this, currently have a skywatcher 150p on a eq3 mount, my plan is to purchase the enhanced dual axis motors a polar scope and a dslr but looking through countless posts I'm unsure which to get, so hoping someone here could point me in the right direction, my current budget for a dslr is around £200 maybe stretch a little more any help would be greatly appreciated,

Thank you 

Harry

53 minutes ago, Harry85 said:

a dslr but looking through countless posts I'm unsure which to get,

All those posts will have explained the useful features of suitable cameras, so there's little point in repetition, it's now up to you to make a decision.

Michael

• Like 1

I was in the same boat last year. My vision was blurred by the choices.

In the end I came across a Canon 1200D in a local "cash converters" type shop. I probably paid over the odds but after marrying it up with APT and my EQ6 mount I've had some pleasing results with it although it's not the best choice from the Canon family.

I wish I'd hung round for one of the frequent members ads here on SGL. I could have picked up an astro modified Canon for the same money and get a few useful accessories in the deal!

So that's my advice. Look at the classifieds and pick up nice astro moded camera package (batteries, filters, leads and maybe a nice lens or two). The exact model is a minefield you will never navigate and seconadry in my opinion. Go for a good value package of an established SGL member :)

• Thanks 1

Thanks all for the reply I've seen 600d thrown around alot but wasnt sure if there was a slightly better one within my price range I could get instead, think I'll go for that one thank you so much for your replies much appreciated 

8 minutes ago, Harry85 said: