Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Why are my images partially blurry and how to stop this

Hi everyone,

I am new to astrophotography and of course started by taking a photo of the moon (as attached) using my Canon EOS500D camera - 1/250 exposure time, 800ISO. I used my celestron 127EQ telescope with a adapter for the camera of course. I used no eyepiece. 

However, i find that it is slightly blurred, and upon taking pictures of nearby stars, i also found them to be blurred, even with a high exposure time. am i doing anything wrong at all or is this simply because of my setup? 

Many thanks

IMG_3243.CR2

10 hours ago, jamesj01 said:

i also found them to be blurred

Hi 

JTOL. What @MarkAR says and...

Is the telescope OK visually? Is it collimated? Do you have a long lens you could test against?

How do you take the shot? Maybe try without touching the camera. At long focal lengths, even at 1/250s, there will be two images recorded. An image -corresponding to a shutter release- and a second when the camera has settled.

The atmosphere also has to be still. For the moon, probably better to take a video and stack the best frames.

HTH

Edited by alacant

@alacant thanks for the speedy reply - my telescope uses a newtonian reflector and i dont know if it is collimated or not sorry. 

When i look through the eyepiece without a DSLR attached, it is clear as daylight and the detail is amazing for both stars and the moon. It is blurry however through my camera. I strongly go with what you said about my telescope moving when i take my picture so i have purchased a remote. I have heard they are essential. So possibly there is to much movement when i press the shutter button?

Many thanks

5 minutes ago, jamesj01 said:

@alacant thanks for the speedy reply - my telescope uses a newtonian reflector and i dont know if it is collimated or not sorry.