Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

New to Astrophotography

Peart

Hi All,

So I am new to astrophotography and was looking for some advice on what to buy, mainly the mount as I don't have a huge budget.

I am currently using a SkyWatcher 102mm Telescope (500mm Focal Length) with a Canon 550d along with a EQ2 mount, so no motors as of yet.

Any advice on what mounts to get would be great.

Thanks

Hi and welcome to SGL, for reasonably trouble free astro' imaging a second hand HEQ5 is a good starting point.

For imaging using a DSLR and camera lenses or small scope the Sky Watcher Star Adventurer works well.

Dave

47 minutes ago, Peart said:

My budget for a mount is with the £500 mark.

Plenty of HEQ5's around the last few months for that sort of money. For a smidge more I managed to get an EQ6 so depends how far you can stretch.

Check out the classifieds here as well as Astro Buy and Sell. There are also a couple of facebook groups which deal with second hand gear.

£500 should get you a used HEQ5.

I followed advice on here a year or so back and bought one used for £475, it has helped to get me into astrophotography and I have no regrets about that purchase. Knowing a bit more about it now I am sure that if I'd have gone for a cheaper mount I'd have ended up frustrated at times. A good solid mount is crucial if you are looking at doing imaging, the HEQ5 was the most expensive part of my setup when I was getting started but everyone here said 'invest in the best mount you can afford, ideally HEQ5 upwards"....... They were right. ?.

• 2 months later...
57 minutes ago, Sandgrown said:

Hi, may I quantify something, is the reason for a HEQ5 that it is a heavier sturdy mount/tripod or it has a finer smoother tracking gear? 

Thanks 

Sturdier / mount load  ,has ports for being able to guide via Eqmod or st4 , go to , +1 for making every photon count  it will get you up to speed with what you need to know first ?