Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Filters: What do they do?

Hello everybody,

I am new to astronomy... I just got my first "real" telescope a few days ago. I'm not considering buying filters right now however I'm curious and I will probably buy filters someday.

The question I wanted to ask is what are the most commonly used filters, what do they do and what are they good for? Let's stick to the ones that help observing (astrophotography is not going to be a concern for the time being)

From what I understood UHC filters are great and should be the first one I get but then they are so many other filters I would like to know about...I heard about OIII, neodymium, H alpha, H beta, CSL, color filters of all kind and so on! I'm getting lost...

Raph

Hi,

This is from Flos' website:

The narrowband UHC filter, like the O-III filter, isolates the two doubly ionized oxygen lines (496 and 501nm) in addition to the hydrogen-beta line (486nm) emitted by planetary and most emission nebulae.

The UHC filter permits superb views of objects like the Orion, Lagoon, Swan and other extended nebulae. It performs well in smaller aperture instruments owing to its greater light transmission than the O-III, yet still suppresses light pollution well.

The UHC filter is the best all-round dark-sky nebula filter.

The neodymium and CLS are light pollution filters. They help block stray light from the old sodium type street lights etc.

Coloured filters help to bring out features on the various planets, such as the cloud hands on Jupiter, as well as the Great Red Spot; the albedo (dark areas) features on Mars, or cloud detail in Venus's atmosphere.

HTH

BTW the Baader Neodynium filter isn’t just a light pollution filter but the best planetary filter for Jupiter and Saturn I’ve ever used. Great on mars too and gives the moon a nice neutral,colour as well as increasing contrast.