Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

What are my Ha options?

kirkster501

Hi all,Been doing some white light solar observing and imaging with Herschel Wedge and love it.

So quite fancy making the move to Ha.

I have a night time scope rig as per signature below and also have a nice ED80 scope.  So, should I use an Etalon and something on this ED80 to achieve my Ha objectives or should I buy a dedicated Lunt Ha scope? I'd rather like to use the ED80 if I could because that doubles up as a dual-rig imaging guiding scope and is also useful for some wider field white light solar as well.

What's your thoughts please?

ED80 at f7.5 would suit a Quark and it's nice red colour will match your car :)

Alternatively as said a Lunt 50 or 60 is a nice scope, I'd go for the LS60 if you can afford it as there is less hassle getting focus for imaging.

There's the Coronado as well but I've had no experience of one.

Really you need both, a Lunt for full disc and a Quark for close ups :rolleyes2:

Dave

To add to the mix I have a TEC140 which is a superb refactor for white light and I bet it would offer a superb view with the Quark on it.  From what i have read, a scope needs very short focal length to deliver a full disk so will cross that bridge at a later date.

Indeed, maybe I will need both.  And that is ultimately doable.  Just want to get going with Ha first so looks like the Quark is a good first step.

Thanks for your thoughts.

Of course, there's the choice of Camera too! Will it give Newton's Rings etc. :p
Solar HA is a war of attrition? lol. To be really "Punk", I'm still pursuing the
"Frankenscope Trail". Thinking seriously of buying an ED80(!) now anyway. ;)

In retrospect, the Quark has a lot going for it (now)? But I'm still entertaining
ideas of a configurable "does-it-all" scope --- Using the "standard" (Lunt 50)
Etalon. One more "throw of the [financial] dice"? lol! Will I *never* learn?   :D

All this at a Solar Minimum? :eek: