Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Newbie here. I need your help in trying to bring out the nebulosity from my M45 image. To give you a background, this image is a stack of 54x2mins exposures with 43 dark frames. This was taken in our neighborhood with quite a bit of light pollution. I already stacked it in DSS and removed the gradient (using GradientXTerminator) and tried to adjust the levels and curves and all I got was this. Hope you guys can help me on this one. 

PleiadesTest.thumb.png.338f12327bfe28c099ce459b21769873.png

P.S. I also attached the RAW stacked file just in case you need it as well. 

Thanks! :) 

Autosave004.zip

How much light pollution?? was the moon out? how was the transparency when you imaged this?

You might find that if there is too much LP, it might be too much for the faint nebulosity to punch through... typically 2 minute subs should bring out, at the very least, some of the nebulosity. 

Hi MarsG76. Actually the Moon about to set when I took my exposures and from what I have observed I think the transparency is ok as well. So the Moon was already on the West and Pleiades was just rising from the East during this time. 

I also used a UHC filter to maybe "lessen" the LP. Not sure if that was effective though. 

Hi. Nice shot. I had a quick go using The Gimp in big hammer mode (!). The main problem is the gradient and the vignetting; use flats to cure the latter. Unless you have sodium and mercury light pollution, it's probably best to lose the filter.

Anyway, there's some nebulosity but don't cut off the histogram dark point after (for this image extensive) stretching. Another set of shots added to what you already have should get you a nice result. HTH.

cap.thumb.JPG.45295c26c809a3950208a1c2272b1d74.JPG