SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Comparing PoleMaster and SharpCap/PhotoPolarAlign Mount Polar Alignment Routines.

StuartJPP

I have been using the PoleMaster software for a while now and I am quite happy with it. It certainly serves my needs for my mount and focal lengths.

I did use PhotoPolarAlign from Themos for a short while previously. It does a good job at indicating polar alignment error, but presenting the corrections and adjusting the mount was tedious to use. Lots of iterative steps were involved and no simple correlation between alignment error and mount adjustment required. Now that it is incorporated into SharpCap I thought I'd compare the two side-by-side.

At the start of the session I did a PoleMaster alignment, I then compared it to SharpCap. I am amazed at the speed SharpCap can plate solve the captured image. My netbook is a Lenovo Yoga 3 11" and uses a Core M-5Y10c processor, so no slouch but not a power beast. I was also pleasantly surprised at how few steps there are using SharpCap to polar align. Literally 3 steps and you are done, the plate solving happens automatically and you are basically ready for step 2 before you know it. It would be nice if SharpCap automatically cranked up the exposure and gain of the camera when selecting the Polar Alignment tool, but it only takes a few seconds to adjust...a future feature perhaps ;)

Following are some screen captures I did during the night...

1. Starting with the mount previously aligned using PoleMaster, this image shows the first step in SharpCap. Plate solving has already been done long before I had read the dialog box as to what to do next (all the red and yellow squares).
01_SharpCapPolarAlignment.jpg

2. This image shows step 2 after the mount has been rotated by 90° in RA. Again, the plate solving happens almost instantly.
02_SharpCapPolarAlignment.jpg