Narrowband

Powerseeker 70EQ for Astrophotography?

Hello fellow stargazers.

I am new here and as I said in my introduction post I am also new to astronomy and more recently astrophotography. I have 2 telescopes, a Celestron Astromaster 70AZ and a Celestron Nexstar 6SE. I use a Nikon D3200 with a T-Ring and T-Adapter attached to the Astromaster. I have taken a few pictures with this setup, but I need more practice to master the settings and all that.  I also take pictures with my phone, a Galaxy Note 5, through the eyepiece.

The AstroMaster got me started and just recently upgraded to the Nexstar. I have been reading about the limitations of these 2 telescopes for astrophotography. I know they are not good for long exposure photography and that a telescope with an EQ Mount would be better. I am aware of the Celestron Wedge available for my 6SE, but that is out of my budget as of now.

I found some used telescopes with EQ mounts on Craigslist and I was thinking maybe I can get one for long exposure photos. I was considering getting a Celestron Powerseeker 70EQ I found for $60 and use it for long exposure photography only, either by attaching the Nikon with the T-Ring or by Piggybacking.

Is this a good idea? Will the Powerseeker 70EQ be helpful for this kind of photography? Will I be able to photograph anything interesting, any deep space stuff or any planet?

Any input will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
Joe

Personally, I think using a decent telephoto lens on an EQ mount would get better results than a PowerSeeker 70EQ. The PowerSeeker is very slow at F/10, and is not very well colour corrected (not hopeless either). Something like a 200-400mm telephoto will do a better job, and be much faster for many deep sky objects (i.e. those requiring long exposure).