NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Getting into astrophotography

Hi, i'm relatively new to astronomy so please bear with me. In the future i'd like to get into astrophotography. Do you know of some equipment i could use that within a realistic price range? (cameras and means of attaching them to the telescope?)

I have a celestron nexstar 4se.

Hi Corkeyno an easy and relatively cheap way to start is to modify a basic web cam  - look at the tutorials on the net/you tube for instructions on modifying the web cam.  It's a good way to start experimenting with imaging say the moon or even the planets.

Jim

First and foremost.  Don't spend any money right away.  Do you have any equipment at all?  Camera's - point and shoot, webcam, DSLR, SLR, Phone?   Do you have a telescope?  If so which one, what accessories do you have?   Please tell us what you have every last detail it will help to be able to make an informed decision on how to give you good non generic advice.

Next question, what do you mean by astrophotography?  It's a huge topic with many different disciplines.  Wide field astro photos, the ones that show a huge amount of the night sky, generally with the milky way is one extreme.  Then you move on to Lunar, solar, planets and finally deep sky objects.    Each type of photo requires different equipment and different skills to get the best out of them.

Here's some generic advice.

If you can get hold of a Canon DSLR, a fast lens and a tripod.  Set if up on manual, put the focus to "infinity" and I mean infinity, not past infinity that some lenses can do.  Open the aperture as wide as it will go, if it's a zoom lens zoom right out to the widest setting.  Then take a 20 second exposure at iso1600.

Please have a read of the imagers' bible first, before you spend any money! https://www.firstlightoptics.com/books/making-every-photon-count-steve-richards.html