NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hi guys.

I live in Watford, UK (light polluted area) and I'm trying to do everything I can to improve what I can see through my scope (SW 200p). Last week I had a couple of clear nights and I decided to go on a hunt for M31 Andromeda Galaxy  and M81 Bode's Nebulae. I'm a newbie in astronomy (I still haven't worked out how to use the RA setting circle).  After a few attempts I managed to find M31 and M81 but I was hoping to see a bit more than something like a very little cloud that you could barely see even after 20 min of continuous looking through the eyepiece (32mm TeleVue plossl).  I tried to see if there's any difference with the Orion Ultrablock filter but it wasn't that great. I'm waiting for a DGM Optics NPB Nebulae filter to arrive from the States and I'll get a Baader Neodymium filter for my birthday next week and I'm hoping that will make a difference but I'm wondering if flocking the telescope would greatly improve the image.

Since I got the telescope I've done more research than looking at the stars. This is how I found http://www.deepskywatch.com/Articles/flocking-newtonian.html

Does it worth doing it?

And what should I use to blacken the back of mirror?

I hide in the shadows in my garden, from within a tent in Winter, and  sometimes use an extension to shield the scopes aperture from stray light, but nothing beats a darker sky  to see any real change, flock all you like, but from what I read, you can only just make out M31.

I was the same from my garden, a tiny little smudge, surely that can't be it.............it was?

But from a darker place away from my home, M31 trully fills my eyepiece, so much that I needed the SW25mm to get a better look,  then the 60° 25mm Starguider, and now my 70° 32mm Panaview, and still cant get it all in?  Its like I own a different telescope!

Get to a darker place before you commit to flocking, try it out first