NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Young beginner getting into astronomy

Errif

Greetings fellow astronomers!

I'm a newbie to astronomy and I've always thought space was something mysterious, unknown but yet fascinating and about two months ago I started looking into it.

I made some searches about astronomy then about telescopes but found all the information overwhelming, all the things you had to take into consideration and I ended up leaving it. Then about three weeks ago I got back into it and I made sure to go slowly, that's when I found this web page and it has been a very helpful resource.

After reading many great things about the Skywatcher skyliner 200p dobsonian telescope I decided to get it. Since then I have observed 3 times and I have looked at Jupiter, Mars and M57(barley visible) from my porch which is fairly light polluted and with some street lights in the way.

Currently I'm hoping the clouds could go away so that I could look at my next goal, Saturn that is.

And to avoid any confusion I'm saying this now, I'm just 15 years old and it was my dad who bought the telescope(which I still paid for).

Lastly I have a question for you: I found that the dobsonian azimuth and somewhat the altitude axes were kinda sticky and not really as smooth as I would have liked though it's not a huge problem just a minor inconvenience(for now).

Well that is all I had to say so clear skies to all of you.

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Northern Sweden should be getting almost no darkness for the next couple of months. So be aware of that.

Saturn should come out fair, but it will depend on the eyepieces you have. I assume just the standard 2.

If money gets that far look at the TS ED II eyepieces. They are the same as the BST Starguiders here, but TS are I suspect more used to mailing around Europe. Consider the 8mm.