NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hello from West London! Newbie here

craigread7

Hello, 

Firstly, after looking through a few different Astronomy forums, this one appeared to be the friendliest, most helpful, and well designed of them.

I'm 19 and after always being somewhat interested in Astronomy, I finally took the jump and bought myself a telescope (if I had known about this forum I would have asked for advice first)

I purchased a Skywatcher Explorer 130mm Newtonian reflector scope with EQ2 mount and motor drive Focal length 900mm (still able to send it back if you guys wouldn't recommend it for my needs)

I don't really have a lot of space but I'm planning on using the roof of my extension which has a good view of most of the sky. I've just been out tonight to take a look at Jupiter and did encounter a few issues

1. It was very hard to get the planet in the center of my view, I hadn't properly aligned the red dot sight which didn't help the matter and I probably also need to get used to the hand controls

(I haven't set up the motor yet as I wanted to try everything out first and see how it all works)

2. When I did get Jupiter in my view, it had a black circle in the middle and black lines obstructing the view, the only way to get rid of this was to turn the focus until it went away but by this point I seemed to have zoomed out so far it was just a large dot, I tried using the eyepieces that came with the scope, which are a super 10mm and a super 25mm wide angle and also tried both of these through the barlow 2x but I could barely tell the difference

3. I have to carry the scope out of my bedroom window to get it on the roof and it's pretty heavy! (feels about 20KG at least) I wonder if a refractor scope would be lighter?

Ideally I'd like to be able to look in detail at the moon, and see Jupiter, Saturn and possibly Mars. But I know I will end up wanting to look further and view Nebulae