NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

hello from brecon

ekim

hey im new to all this ,I have a second hand telescope f 700mm x dia 76mm refractor type .it came with 4 lens 20mm,12.5mm,9mmand 4mm also a barlow lens.ive got some great shots of the moon but cant seem to look at the planets I tried mars the other night but did nt get much of a view any help welcomed

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi and welcome to SGL - I pressure that your telescope has a finder scope? It's pretty easy to align this during the day to a distant object - This will ensure that at least in the dark you will stand a fighting chance of finding what you are looking for. It could also be that you are trying too large a magnification.

Look forward to seeing you around :smiley:

Hi and welcome to SGL - I pressure that your telescope has a finder scope? It's pretty easy to align this during the day to a distant object - This will ensure that at least in the dark you will stand a fighting chance of finding what you are looking for. It could also be that you are trying too large a magnification.

Look forward to seeing you around :smiley:

thanx for the wecome ..it does have a finder scope .I think I found mars but all I could see was a white dot n the the spider part of my scope

Welcome to SGL  :smiley:

Mars is a tricky target, especially with a smaller scope. Have you tried Jupiter yet? You should be able to see the four largest moons and possibly some surface detail.

hi no I haven't yet only the moon  and mars next clear nite ill look for Jupiter cheers for the advice

hi no I haven't yet only the moon  and mars next clear nite ill look for Jupiter cheers for the advice

I get very little detail from Mars due to the quality of my scope. I know it's Mars from its location and reddish glow, but not from any detail.