NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hello from cloudy Gloucestershire!

Marky1973

Hi All

Complete newby to stargazing, but something that I have been interested in for a long time, but just never got around too (which is pathetic really). I've even bought scopes for other people as presents, but never my own. I did get one back when it was broken (problems with the mount and stabilisation) and had a play with the kids, and we enjoyed looking at the moon, but it was impractical for anything else.

So walking through town last week, Jessops had a nice Skywatcher Explorer 130 in the window for £140 and that got me interested again. Since I hit 40 I am starting to think more and more like "stuff it" - I could be hit by a bus tomorrow, so why the hell not....and it is something the kids are interested in to....so why not bite the bullet and get a scope. It will be for viewing in the back garden and, once we are used to it, maybe out into the Cotswold hilltops!

Despite my flippancy, the budget is modest, but have been looking at:

• Skywatcher Explorer 130 - £139 at Jessops or £135 at FLO (confusingly, Jessops have it at £99 on their website for store delivery!)
  • Skywatcher Explorer 130p (EQ-2) - £165 at FLO
  • Skywatcher Skyhawk 1145p - £120 at FLO

So just reading around some stuff and seeing what i can find out about them - although it seems the latter two will be great ways to get into this hobby!

Been looking around for a couple of hours and already learned a load, so looks like a great forum!

Other than that, I'm hitting middle-age, work for the NHS, married with two daughters....kind of normal I think! I'm also a part-time screenwriter as I am mildly obsessed with film and, fittingly, 2001: A Space Odyssey is my favourite. I also moderate on a screenwriting forum, so appreciate all the hard work that goes into running a discussion forum, so thanks in advance for all your help!

Looking forward to reading more.

Cheers

Mark