NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Complete Noob.

Dale

Hi everybody. :D

My name is Dale and I live in South West Scotland, though I am originally from South Wales. I'm no astronomer but I have a keen interest and I got a Tasco Luminova scope off Santa. :rolleyes:

I haven't really had a chance to use it in anger as we have had very few clear skies since Christmas but I have used it for some terrestial viewing, just to get used to the scope. 8)

I'm still trying to work out which Barlows and eyepieces to use so I will be listening to your advice and asking plenty of questions.

I'm a professional photographer and I am interested in combining both.

Thanks for looking, all the best,

Dale.

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hey guys, thanks for the warm welcome, much appreciated.

We got some clear spells here last night but I didn't have much success, I think I need to practice on The Moon before I try the stars. :D

I've been trying to calibrate my finder scope with the telescope which is turning out to be an art in itself but I will get there.

Once again, thanks.

*Dale scurries off to look at the Scotish website thingy.*

Thanks for the further welcomes all. :rolleyes:

Well, I had my first glimpse of the Moon last night and all I can say is, WOW.

I used the erecting lens with a 12.5mm eyepiece and the detail was incredible. I used a Moon filter too but I still need to get a bit more used to moving the scope about as the tiniest of movements and you loose the Moon. I couldn't believe how you could actually see the Moon moving across the frame too, incredible. :D

I tried looking at some of the stars but I need more patience. :rolleyes:

I'm looking for a camera to scope adapter now, anybody got any recommendations?

Thanks,

Dale.

Hello Dale,

I can sense your excitement on your lunar observation description.