Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hi & Happy New Year

dannyboy

Just thought I would take the opportunity to introduce myself and also say Happy New Year :rolleyes:

I'm a 32 year old kid who has always been fascinated by the skies, and probably like quite a few others here I got a telescope for Christmas. Have wanted one for as long as I can remember so I was pretty excited when I got it. Although I am pretty new to all this, I tried to do some research and decided a reflector would be my best bet, as I only live about 10 minutes from the centre of Poole. Eventually decided to go for a Skywatcher Explorer 130PM , which seemed to be one of the better ones in my price range.

Christmas night was clear, so I got my first look at the moon, which was brilliant. Tried to also look at Mars too, but couldn't find it in the eyepiece. Think I still need a bit more practice at finding anything smaller than the moon! We haven't had any clear nights since then but at least it gives me a chance to learn. I have a ton of questions, but I'm gonna read the stickies in the beginners section rather than ask silly questions which have already been asked a million times.

Hope to stick around and meet you all anyway.

cheers

Dan

Hi Dan and welcome to SGL.

I have the same 'scope as yourself and I really enjoy using it.

I aligned my finder like this; put in your lowest power eyepiece (25mm ?) and find a nice bright star. Get the star centred as best you can in the eyepiece and adjust the two knobs on the finder so that the red dot appears over the target star. It should be close now but if you want you can repeat the procedure with a higher magnification eyepiece.

Enjoy your 'scope; the Orion nebula, Pleiades cluster and the double cluster in Perseus are great targets using your 25mm eyepiece.

Cheers,

Ian

Hi Dan and welcome to SGL.

I have the same 'scope as yourself and I really enjoy using it.