Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

HEQ5 Pro Rowan conversion

wxsatuser

Heard all the talk about noisey gears etc......so got the Rowan Astronomy belt conversion.

The mount is very quiet now with just the motor whine, nice!

Ordered the kit pre Monday morning and it was here Tuesday the next day.

http://rowanastronomy.com/productsa1.htm#heq5beltkit

This is a very nice kit with very good instructions and can easily be fitted within a hour.

I bought the pinion extractor as well as that makes life easy.

Here is a pic of after the fitting.

rowan.jpg

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Great mod this which I recall from Rowan's original thread - useful as it maintains the gear ratios/synscan controller compatability. Look's very neat to thanks to the shim to raise and retain the gear cover. The before and after PEC graphs looked impressive, though I've little experience on this front.

Look forward to here how it performs in real use Mike and may well follow.

Very nice mod. Two questions,

1. Have you had the chance to try it at astrophotography?

2. Is it easy to revert back at the factory gers ?

1/ not yet but soon hopefully, just setting it all up with EQMOD and CDC, big learning curve.

2/ I would say yes if you keep all the bits.

I have the the old parts in the seperate bags that Rowan supplied with the parts, just don't lose anything.

Great mod this which I recall from Rowan's original thread - useful as it maintains the gear ratios/synscan controller compatability. Look's very neat to thanks to the shim to raise and retain the gear cover. The before and after PEC graphs looked impressive, though I've little experience on this front.

Look forward to here how it performs in real use Mike and may well follow.

Really impressed with the quality, it is very easy to fit as there are very good instructions with lots of photos.