Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello, I'm a complete n00b, be gentle :)

jerfish

Hello, I'm Jeremy or Jerfish. I live in Upstate, NY, USA. I bought my first Telescope on April 30th (Celestron Nexstar 6SE), and saw Saturn's rings for the first time (mind blown. Then blew the minds of my friends and wife. Quite messy...). Who knew I could see the rings from my front lawn??? (likely, many people here lol). It was pretty awesome. I have no experience with regards to this. Of course, this led immediately to rying to photo saturn with my iphone held over the eyepiece. Ya, that's not the best. I immediately began getting other items to connect my D90 Nikon to the telescope - then saw Jupiter for the first time, with two moons on each side of it (four moons and jupiter from my first telescope! wow!). That led to more photo attempts and learning about stacking.

And so I go on. Last night used my Celestron Neximage 5 for the first time. Hoping tonight to get some lunar shots or Jupiter shots with it (I got home at 2:30am from work, jupiter was loooong gone).

I'm full of questions, and hope this is the place to find some answers!

Just a few

1. what is binning with regards to video capture?

2. Should I dial back framerates for planetary capture? It keeps defaulting to 30+ when I change resolutions in icap

3. Less exposure and more gain or vice versa to have better stacking quality?

4. What codec should I use, or uncompressed? Registax keeps choking on my uncompressed onces...and some codecs are causing errors

5. Resolution? Does a lower resolution use more pixels per object as it's filling more of the screen/using entire detector for the planet or better higher resolution/finer pixel depth? My mind says use the 640x480, but I am unsure.

Ya, there are a ton more. That's a start though :)

here's what I have so far:

Jupiter, Nikon D90 2x barlow, on a bad night, Stacked and not tracked well, low image numbers, Day 2 of Telescope

Jupiter, First Try