Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Newbie from Scotland

thumbless

Hi all pleased to meet you. :newb:

Could say i am in the Scottish borders location wise, nice to see some Scottish people in here. :hello1:

Bought a scope from liddel a couple of years ago. Optics were like looking through perspex, mount was very shaky even if you touched the eyepiece when you looked through it. As for the viewfinder that was very frustrating to say the least.

Could only find the moon, ended jumping on the scope and flattening it as it was a good waste of £40 quid. :blob: :blob2: :) :blob4: :):smiley::evil::(:clouds1:

Recently i joined Star at night forum which was OK, saw someones link in their username for Astro-Chat and joined that, they were friendly informative and i am still learning from them as their advice is good and informative and as a newbie they do not have you paying megabucks for new kit, they advise good kit for a good price.

Ended up getting a 8" Newt C8N Celestron from Sherwoods for £275/£285 including P+P.

Had issue with cast iron plate having no bolts to fit it to dovetail with.

4 slow motion controls and only 2 plastic knobs which had spring inserts on the shafts which broke the minute i tried taking them off to put on the other side.

Sherwoods told me to use the aluminium dovetail that the scope rails on, i am using that but it is a swine to put on in the dark.

20mm Plossl supplied but all i could see was the moon which is glorious but murder to track with broken knobs.

Saw a thread for eyepieces on Astrochat, Carlos gave some recommendations for an orion scope, i asked if the same specs would do my scope, as my focal length is 1000mm f5.

The answer was yes so i phoned First light Optics, other than he could not understand a word i was saying and had a bad cough was very helpfull in helping me choose eyepieces and plenty of background info, he was very helpfull and knows his stuff. :occasion9: :pottytrain1: :pottytrain2: