NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hi from Stoke on Trent

guti14

Hi all.

First of all I'm really happy to find this forum after a little searching the internet, I have already picked up so much great info while I have been lurking for the past week or so and hope to learn more now becoming a signed up member.

A little about me, first of all a complete beginner to astronomy, I have often looked up and when planets can be seen with the naked eye, come home and found out what it was I had been looking at in awe that evening, what a wonderful thing the internet is.

Due to the above, I don't yet own a scope or any other equipment, whilst I do have some money set aside to buy one, I'm glad I haven't made that leap yet after reading some things on here, maybe I should go down the binos route for a while first.

So many parts of astronomy interest me from the moon to deep space and all in-between including photography (is there even a single 1 scope that does all that could do all of this?) which is why I'm glad I found this place, giving me a chance to learn before I make any decisions that might put me off before I begin.

Here's to learning and hopefully one day being able to pass on some of the information that others on here are so happy to provide :smiley:

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome to SGL Guti14

Choosing a scope for lunar / planets / DSO's and AP is a tall order, but a decent reflector on a HEQ5 mount should do the trick.

if you can hold off with the AP, then the Sky Watcher 200P dobsonian is a great choice.

Ask your questions in the beginners section and you will get lots of help.