NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hello from the Midwest

Mikester

Hi everyone, my name is Mike!

I'm a master sergeant in the USAF stationed at Scott SFB , IL (avionics tech by trade); and will be hitting the magic 20yr mark in a couple short months. I returned not so long ago from a 1yr tour in Afghanistan, which was NO FUN- but very rewarding both personally and professionally... I have been all over the world in my career; and spent 11yrs of it stationed overseas (5yrs in Germany, 6yrs in Okinawa)... not to mention the deployments to many exotic & many not-so-nice places=) I am very thankful to have had the experience because it has really opened my eyes up to the size of the world and the diversity of different cultures across the many corners of our little blue island globe. It really drives home a sense of appreciation for what I have; as well as the many cultural perspectives I have been able to observe, learn and appreciate.

I am a father of 4 kids ranging from 7 to 19...

6321911773_de52bb9729_b_d.jpg

and happily engaged to my absolutely amazing GF of almost 4yrs :grin:

6321899887_2714fcb909_b_d.jpg

My family owned a music store, so I grew up playing music (lead guitar) in local rock/blues bands up & down the great state of California... Still miss home every day. However, I love Missouri- Except the winters are pretty brutal (by my standards, not by people who grew up in cold places lol). But the midwest definitely has a sense of charm to it; and the IL/MO farmland kind of reminds me of home.

My hobbies these days (besides being a dad, which is my favorite of them all) are cars & amateur astronomy. While in Okinawa, I built a very nice, 500hp GT-R; then a 180SX. I am currently in the process of a "wheels-up" build here in the states on a 240SX; which is the stateside equivalent of the 180SX- I stripped the 180SX before I left and shipped everything but the body here for the build.

My Okinawa cars:

1990 Nissan Skyline GT-R