Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Which red led torch?

Hi Kevin, you can spend money on fancy 'branded' red light torches but at the end of the day they are all just torches....with red lights!

My advice would be to get any medium power torch and cover it with something transparent and red..... for example a couple of coats of red nail varnish or some red sweet wrappers! Just as effective but cheaper!

I'd also recommend you get yourself a head mounted torch and do the same with that........keeps your hands free to handle e/p's and other bits and bobs.

JOE

Hi Kevin, I'm a newbie too and joined today!! I have had a very warm welcome and some great advice already :-)

I purchased one from First Light Optics (I've seen that this is a very reputable and recommended retailer). It is a Skywathcer Dual LED, switches between White & Red and it cost £15.00 and arrived the next day!

Hope this helps.

T

Hi,

Im also a noobie, i just picked up a SnS Carson Star Map red LED Night-Vision torch from scopes and skies for £5.99 does the job, can read star maps etc with it fine! i wouldnt spend to much on a torch tbh a red LED is a red LED no matter what fancy name and case its in.

Hi Kevin, I'm a newbie too and joined today!! I have had a very warm welcome and some great advice already :-)

I purchased one from First Light Optics (I've seen that this is a very reputable and recommended retailer). It is a Skywathcer Dual LED, switches between White & Red and it cost £15.00 and arrived the next day!

Hope this helps.

T

I have a similar model and found after using it a few times the wheel which controls the brightness came unscrewed after tightening it and having it come loose a couple of times I solved the problem with a small dob of "No More Nails" between the metal plate and plastic wheel, works a treat.

Hi everyone , I'm a newbie looking for a red led torch,any recommendations would be greatly appreciated thanks Kevin