Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello From ArmyAirForce

ArmyAirForce

Hi,

I'm Steve, and I'm an alcoho...no, wrong forum; I'm a model maker and military vehicle restorer by profession, both of which started out as hobbies. I've had a long time interest in astronomy, and have finally decided to make an effort to get into the hobby more seriously. But first, a little ( or a lot! ) about me. I live in Washington, Tyne & Wear, England and just made contact with the Sunderland Astronomical Society last week.

For almost 30 years, I've been heavily involved in flying radio controlled model aircraft, ending up display flying very large warbirds, as can be seen from my 1/6 scale B-17 Fortress shown below, which has a wingspan over 17 feet. In 2004 I got Asthma and a wood dust allergy which forced a break from the model building for a few years. Since I've always had an interest in all things military, I bought a Jeep in 2005, a hobby that my health wouldn't restrict.

7.JPG

The Jeep was used by the French Army up until the early 1990's before being auctioned as surplus in 2000. After three years of ownership in the normal olive drab finish, it was converted to an airfield 'Follow Me' Jeep. This has opened up a number of great photo opportunities, and a number of 'Working Weekends' at airshows. Five years after buying the Jeep, I bought a 1944 Dodge Weapons Carrier which was also modified into an airfield mobile control tower vehicle. This hobby resulted in my current employment restoring Jeeps, and I'm about so start on a 1943 Ford Jeep.

croft13.jpg