Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Short tube refractor optical woes

Hi folks,

I've had a old Skywatcher 104mm F5 refractor for some time now and it's a reasonable visual scope but since taking the dive in to DSLR astrophotography i have been blighted by two or three nasty little optical aberations... The most degrading to my images is color fringing from a rather 'chromatic' achromat. ;) The others that look like coma and astigmatism i can just about live with...

Center of the FOV post-22175-133877701367_thumb.jpg

Edge of the FOV post-22175-133877701371_thumb.jpg

Does anyone out there have any creative ideas as to how i might go about correcting these issues or would the inevitable investment on solving these problems be better spent on a low end Apo? (Remember i'm a broke student surviving on pasta, oxo cubes and beer!) ;)

Yup, that is why fast photographic refractors of comparable aperture cost over £4000.

However, you might find that one of the fringle killing filters would make a big difference. They come in various flavours. There's the Minus Violet, the Fringe Killer and the UV/IR blocker. This latter might not cut off the blue close enough to the visible spectrum for your scope, however. There may be other filters available, too. Check out the Astronomik site and Baader Planetarium.

Quite a good image was posted recently from one of the ST range of scopes so you should certainly get better results than those above.

There's a photoshop bodge for non-round stars, best saved as an action because it only handles one star at a time. Magic wand to select a star. Expand the selection by four. Feather by three. Filter, Blur, Radial Blur (choose spin/best), deselect.

Olly

With my ST80 i have tried defocusing slightly - this causes the halo to almost completely dissappear, but of course the stars are slightly less sharp.