Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Software to control Cannon 450D

johnb

Hi

I currently use the standard EOS Utility software for focusing and for then taking x number of images at various exposures lengths, this does all work well but im curious to know what other software folk use and if there are any advantages to using different software ?

Regards

John B

I've got APT and Nebulosity 2 - they're both good, but different - Neb2 also includes image calibration and stacking routines...and costs more.

Backyard EOS looks similar to APT but I have no experience of it.

All three offer free trials - so my advice would be "Try before you buy"

Steve

I've got APT and Nebulosity 2 - they're both good, but different - Neb2 also includes image calibration and stacking routines...and costs more.

Backyard EOS looks similar to APT but I have no experience of it.

All three offer free trials - so my advice would be "Try before you buy"

Steve

I have BackyardEOS and I loooove it ~ it's hard to do without once you're tried it. I've been using Neb as well for about 18 months and I prefer BackyardEOS for image capturing. I have not experience with APT.

bob

I've just reloaded EOS Utility onto my new laptop, and am wondering why anyone would use any other program to control their camera.

I tried APT and it just seems a bit unnecessarily clunky and less user-friendly, or am missing something here? Sure, you can set up fancy imaging runs of differing exposures with APT, but when all you need is, say, 30 x 5 minute exposures why use anything other than EOS Utility? The question being, what's wrong with EOS Utility, if anything?

Nothing at all and I still find myself using it on occasions - or earlier versions of APT...

Theres a lot of additional functionality in progarms like APT and BackyardEOS but sometimes I like the simple approach... I often find myself just using timer remotes and beign out there with the kit...