Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

bedazzled newbie

northernnutter

Hi all,

Another newbie here...total novice, but enthralled by the night sky! Spent first night outside with a pair of 50 yr old binoculars once owned by my father -in-law. Now have a crick neck, and possibly a hernia :(, but worth every minute! So many stars....so much to learn. Hope to get lots of advice from you lovely people!

Vicky.

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Vicky and welcome to the forum.

Given your injuries with just a pair of binoculars - will you be safe with a real telescope?:( We'll need to arrange some paramedics in advance of this momentous event and as a first aider myself, I will certainly be on standby.:):D

Glad you could join us and please feel free to ask any questions that come to mind as there is no such thing as a daft question!

Clear skies in the meantime

James

Hi Vicky

A very warm welcom to the SGL,

I also like Binoculars as well as telescopes

and you stated that you have a pair 50 years old could you tell us the size and make

Many thank

Doug

Essex

Hi Vicky and welcome to the forum.

Given your injuries with just a pair of binoculars - will you be safe with a real telescope?:( We'll need to arrange some paramedics in advance of this momentous event and as a first aider myself, I will certainly be on standby.:):D

James

Being a nurse myself James, I guess I should know better!! 'Your back is your friend!!!...' and all that....:D

Hi Vicky

I also like Binoculars as well as telescopes

and you stated that you have a pair 50 years old could you tell us the size and make

Essex

Hi Doug,

The binoculars I have just have 'GLOBAL MUNCHEN' on them, so I'm guessing they're a German make??

They also say '8x40'....not that this means an awful lot to me!!

But I can see many more stars through them than not, so I guess they'll do me for now...finding my way around, as it were!( Even if I do need a forklift to lift them!!!:()