Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Where to start :)

Ouzodan

Hi all, been browsing the this excellent forum for a couple of weeks now, but decided to make myself known.

I am complete beginner to Astronomy.

As a child it was always something that I wanted to get into though my parents could not afford a telescope and my early enthusiasm waned.

A couple of years back I was out Night Fishing in Sussex when for no real reason I decided to look up, Oh my... :) the sky was absolutely littered with stars, For someone who lives very near london and only used to poor seeing conditions, It was all so big and dazzling I nearly fell over, suffice to say my interest in the whole subject was reignited.

Then along came Prof Brian Cox and his enthusiasm for astronomy, this would finally sell it to me, so now ive armed myself with the Turn Left at Orion book and some Celestron 20x50 bins & I am just waiting for a clear night here something I havent seen for two weeks & I'll head out and see what I can find.

I will hopefully be getting a Telescope in March for my birthday but for now im sure I'll speak to many of you on here.

Dark skies for all :)

Dan

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hello and welcome to one of the friendliest forums I've ever been on. I'm pretty much the same position as yourself and have been interested since my childhood but Stargazing Live reminded me the the brother in law had left his telescope at home so I pinched a shot :)

Once you start to read you'll you'll find out there's far more to this game than you could possibly imagine!

have fun!

Welcome to SGL

You have made an excellent start going down the bino route.

All newbies would be better off getting to know an appreciate the hobby before going scope crazy.

If you in the London area do plan a visit to the Astrofest in Feb , you can get up close and personal with a variety of equipment.

Hi Dan and welcome to the forum.