SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Which Tele Vue eyepieces are best for me?

Matt01

Hello SGL,

I am soon to take delivery of my 10" f5 dob. It comes with a basic 25mm plossl and I have bought another very basic 10mm plossl to help me get off the ground. However in the long term, I would ideally like to have a small collection of green and black beauties. (By small I mean 4 or 5) Themain reason for this is that I have got used to very good optics with my EL 42's.

As I am new to the equipment side of visual astronomy, I really am not sure which focal lengths and which lines to choose from. My initial thoughts were a mixture of DeLite, Delos and Plossl. My budget is £1000 spread over the course of the next 6-8 months. If anyone thinks I could bump my budget up slightly to be able to include anything better then feel free to say.

To add, my targets of choice are pretty much anything in the sky that isn't the sun. (I'm not limited to planets or dso's.)

Another point is that I hope to observe mars at opposition so a shorter focal length eyepiece is first on my list.

Many thanks in advance

Matt

Tele Vue eyepieces certainly have some sort of ‘lure’ about them, but I wouldn’t discount some of the excellent offerings from other manufacturers such as the Explore Scientific LER 92, Pentax XW, Baader Morpheus and APM (100s, etc.), to mention a few.