Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

New here. Hoping to learn.

EverettCHaag

Hello, the name is Chad. I'm new to this all, and as there are no local clubs or anything to join, I've resorted to trying to find a nice helpful online community.

I just bought a Celestron Powerseeker 114EQ telescope. I know this probably isn't the best scope, but it was affordable and I really wanted an EQ mount to try and learn it.

I spent a fair amount of time researching types of scopes and then how to use the EQ mounts and finally making sure my scope was collimated correctly, so I've only gotten to take it out once for 3 hours so far.

My first time out with my binoculars I found a weird cluster that I loved to look at, after a lot of research I found out it was The Pleiades! So currently my goal is to find this again but with my telescope now. 

I'm really looking forward to reading up a bunch here and learning what I can from people a bit more experienced, also chatting with people with a similar interest.

Hi, Chad, and welcome to SGL.

Would you appreciate the "best" scope (if there is such a thing) at this stage? The 114 is a perfectly adequate performer and will give you some nice views.

I would suggest you download one of the free planetarium software packages to help you find things. Cartes du Ciel and Stellarium are popular ones - each has a different interface and you will probably find you prefer one a lot over the other (something that can lead to a lot of 'friendly' rivalry on the forum!), so download both and decide which suits you best.

One word of warning about the Pleiades: They are magnificent in binoculars, but are almost too big for a scope. Make sure you use a low magnification to get it in your field of view.

Enjoy the journey.