SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Help me select my proper eye piece lengths

THL22

Hello Gazers!

I need some help ones again. 
Lets say I have a scope with a 150 diameter and a 1800 mm focal length.(f/12) I'll supplied with an 28mm eyepiece.
I would like to know which lengths I should get? I'm in the market for PST pieces.
These are the lengths they offer:

2x barlow
12mm
15mm
18mm
25mm
8mm
5mm
3,2mm

All have a field of view of 60 degrees. In which order should I buy them? 

Clear skies:.)

365astronomy-BST-explorer-ED-eyepiece-ki 

1 minute ago, rwilkey said:

Hi THL22, low power first, so the 25mm, then medium power 12mm, then the 8mm for the Moon.  That will get you started. 

Awesome! But I got a 28 Apex 2" skymaster piece. Won't that overlap with the 25? 

1 minute ago, rwilkey said:

The 25mm will darken the background sky more, I find the 28mm Apex a bit clumsy to be honest and the quality is not up to the 25mm, you will notice quite a difference.

Ah very good to know! Thank you so much:)

rwilkey advised me way back, and no regrets so far.
Having all the BST's I would start with the 12mm first - high power (matches your scopes focal ratio, then work from there ) the 8mm next to give a squeeze more power, but the scopes aperture and conditions at this power will diminish what you will see, then whatever you fancy next. The supplied 28mm will be ok, but the BST may have a better field of view with its 60° afov, though you don't mention the brand of your 28mm.

Which ever order you buy, its probable, you'l buy more!

2 minutes ago, Charic said:

rwilkey advised me way back, and no regrets so far.