Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Big Blue first light timelapse

big blue firstlight 2hd timelapse.mp4Hi all

Well after a 550m round trip to bonnie Scotland I returned with Big Blue.

I had seen the scope fully assembled and had taken part in dismantling it whilst taking photographs to assist my memory when rebuilding it.

I had a go rebuilding it as soon as I got home but after the best part of 10 hours on the road and with it being late I didn't really get any viewing.

So incredibly we were in for a few nights of clear skies and I planned to build Big Blue during the day, however work/family commitments prevented this so I ended up building it as night fell. I have never used a laser collimator before and had purchased one from amazon to coincide with the arrival of the scope, which it did, and as I will have to build BB every time I use it I thought I had better own one.

I started building BB at about 10pm. I decided to photograph the construction and subsequent viewing session with the plan to put it together as a time-lapse sequence.

Building it for the first time, learning collimation and working out how the servocat system works pretty much took all night. I didn't get a great deal if viewing but what I did manage to see was breath-taking.