Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Best budget camera for astrophotography

TheShape

Hi, shoot me if I'm in the wrong place but I am looking at purchasing a 'beginners' camera for deep space imaging etc. My telescope is a celestron astromaster 130eq with motor drive. I've seen a second hand camera (sony dsc h400) for £130. My question (if anyone is still reading) is, is it a camera I can remove the lens and attach a t-ring too, or will it only be good for fastening piggyback style to my telescope? I'm very new to this scene, indeed this is my first post. I'm rather hoping someone here has the same setup. 

Buy a Canon DSLR, if your budget is £130 you can easily get a 1100D, 450D etc... Canon cameras are much better integrated with astrophotography tools so going forward will be a much better option.  Yes T-ring adapter required.

You can also use it for widefield astro also, here is Pleiades at 1 minute F5.6 200mm lens...

pil.jpg

Problem is, with that telescope, and that mount, it's gonna be very hard to be able to use it for astrophotography: the mount is too shacky, and the optics it's not suited, you're gonna have vignetting, and very much likely you're not gonna reach focus.

As @John78 suggested, wide field might be more suited to you: you can reuse the mount, which with a lower focal length and lighter setup will be much more suitable, and you'll be able to use the setup later, when upgrading to a better setup.

The Sony appears to be a bridge camera and the lens does not come off. Reading fro dpreview.

Usually people pick Canons, although I have a Sony Alpha and many use Nikon. Canons are "liked" as they (Canon) offer a fair bit of software. I am not 100% how useful this is as I tend to attach DSLR to scope, set the intervalometer to say 20 exposures at 30 seconds and some wait time. Then it is off back home to load, stack and play. Point being I would never use the supplied software even I had a Canon.