Hey guys, Im new to astrophotography and I had a quick question. I have the canon xsi 450d, and was planning to get the Zomei q555 tripod as well. Suppose I wanted to attach a barn door tracker that I made, would there be any vibrations on the picture? What I mean by this is the barn door tracker requires me to manually turn the wheel, which elevates the mount to track the stars. If I had my camera attached on there with a ball head, wouldn't the turning of the wheel cause vibrations (especially if going to a more powerful lens), which would in turn ruin the picture? Thanks for your help. I can also send pictures of the tracker if needed. 

Other members do use tripod though the examples I'm thinking of are motorised barn doors. If you know your tripod is level and will not wobble as you turn the handle then give it a go, you will know of it is ok or not by the star shapes captured. If you do not extend the legs fully that will help stability. Personally I think it is a big ask if using a long lens.

What does your barn door look like?

What will you use to hold the barn door at the right altitude for your location seems a big ask for the tripod ball head to be level across that latitude angle. Edit: others manage so must be doable see link next post

Hey Thanks  for all the help. The reason why I wanted to know this is because I don't have a tripod yet, I only have my DIY tracker. I wanted to know this as I wanted to know whether it would work with a tripod or not, as if it wouldn't it could save me an unnecessary purchase. But since people seems to do it, why not i guess Ill go for it. Plus, astrophotography is kind of impossible without a tripod, tracker or no tracker. Just one last thing, since you have some experience with these trackers, what is the most powerful lens I can use on this tracker? I would guess around 150-200mm. Also, how fast should I be turning the tracker wheel? Thanks for your time, I appreciate it pal