Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Greetings

Paul Riley

As you can see,I am a new member and I just wanted to pass my regards to you all.

I would say I am at an intermediate level when it comes to general discussion on science/astronomy and related subjects,but am a complete beginner at practical astronomy itself,if you follow me.

I am also considering my first scope,and will like to chat to some of you about this when the time comes to buying.

See you all for now.

:thumbright:

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

What can I say...but really good to see all this support,certainly beats the level of receptiveness found in some areas of the internet.

Just thought I would BRIEFLY describe a little about myself here.Other than Astronomy/and also the possibilities of alien life (which seriously interests me also) I spend almost most of my time either at my computer or modifying it in some way,having spent about 7 or 8 years building and modding PCs (mine and a couple of friends).I am currently undertaking the COMP TIA A+ computer maintenance/technician course also,and am about 2/3rds the way through it.

Anyway,I dont want to deviate off course too much here hehe.Oh I forgot,PC gaming too,obviously.

As for my location,I come from Sheffield,but I have my reservations about the quality of the skies sometimes around here,but we DO have places like Redmires (if anyone knows this area?,its very high and desolate),and Castleton which is not too far away.The Peak District also sounds a natural choice for quality viewing,am I right?.

Finally,as so many people have commended this forum,so shall I,it is friendly,seemingly packed with info,what more could you ask for?.

Well,thanks again,and see you soon,probaby in about 30 mins in fact hehe.