Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help me pick an Atlas...

Ccolvin968

So I'm at a point where I'm stuck. I'm debating between Sky Atlas 2000 or Uranometria 2000. I have a 10" Dob and want the best bang for my buck. I'm fairly experienced but still a beginner if that makes sense... I have bagged a good portion of the Messier catalogue with a 5" scope. I don't want to spend money, have it last me a little while then upgrade to Uranometria a few years later. Is a 10" Dob too small to justify getting Uranometria 2000 or should I just get Sky Atlas 2000. I only have a small field guide that plots stars down to mag 6, but it makes it hard now that I can see mag 10 stars even on a less than perfect night. Any help or guidance is appreciated. Clear skies!

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I have been doing astronomy for over 40 years now,and the easiest and handyest atlas i have owned is the Pocket sky atlas,i had the sky atlas 2000 and although it is excellent,i always reached for the former,for the money its excellent.

This is about as good as they get....there is a field version at around £140 dew proof, or SkySafari Pro for a mobile has a bit more info

http://www.bookdepository.com/Interstellarum-Deep-Sky-Atlas-Ronald-Stoyan/9781107503380

I've been saving, and took the plunge ordering the Field Edition this morning :) Looking fwd to it. I want to avoid using my mobile altogether when I go to a dark site.

I have this atlas. It is very good and I do not think you will be disappointed.

It came today - I think I'm going to really like it :)

Very intuitively organised. To-date I've used Stellarium/Sky Safari on my phone - great apps. What I really like is to be able to open up the nicely sized pages and browse an expanse of sky with such ease, with such detail - but meaningful detail that is kept to what's visible in a 12" scope (+ some additional select items requiring larger aperture).