NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Absolute beginner, no equipment yet - what to buy?

Hello, please be gentle :)

My main hobby is photography, but I've always enjoyed taking photos of the moon, night sky, lunar eclipses and Jupiter and moons (although these of course have always been tiny in my images as my longest lens is 600mm FF equivalent!)

I've done quite a bit of reading but don't really feel like I'm understanding the various options that are available.

I'm not looking for state of the art kit for deep space imaging, but understand I need to get something with a motorised mount in order to have some flexibility with my shutter speeds etc, but to be honest I don't even know which telescope would make sense for me.

Many people seem to recommend the Skywatcher Exploer 130 EQ2 and I understand this can be purchased with a motorised mount (seems to be around £180) - is this a good choice? If so, what else would I need to get in order to attach my camera and take some pics?

If not a good choice, I'm 100% open to suggestions. Budget wise, I don't want to spend masses just to dip a toe in - maximum of around £300 for now.

Thank you very much in advance for any advice, if there's anything I need to decide or answer before advice can be given, please let me know!

You could save yourself some research time by investing in a book called 'Making Every Photon Count', this should contain all the information you need to decide what equipment you should buy.  It is available from First Light Optics, their sponsor banner is at the top of this forum page.