New to Astronomy

Ben Kenobi

So I am new to all of this, never even been on a forum before. I am currently taking an astronomy class at college and I was fascinated from the second the professor turned on the star machine. With pretty much the last of my money, I purchased a new telescope. Bear with me on this, I know it may be tiny, but I bought a Celestron Firstscope 76. My main thing is riding dirtbikes out in the desert, but I noticed that the stars are more brilliant then I ever have seen when I camp out there so I though astronomy would be a perfect side hobby to do after dark instead of starring at a campfire. My main goal is to see Saturn's rings and to see a nebula or as many as I can. I know my scope is small but I have heard good reviews and have been told its actually pretty potent for its size. 

If anyone has a Firstscope I would love to talk about it and see if it can spot what I am looking for. 

post-39793-0-13470500-1414877680.jpeg

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi and welcome to SGL

start with easy targets like the moon

maybe the planets and some open clusters (M45)

saturns rings may be a bit ambitious but saturn will be possible but don't expect a large disc

more a small smudge with a bulge

Hi and welcome to SGL

start with easy targets like the moon

maybe the planets and some open clusters (M45)

saturns rings may be a bit ambitious but saturn will be possible but don't expect a large disc

more a small smudge with a bulge

Would a filter help me at all with Saturn or is my scope just too small? Do you think that this scope will be better then naked eye viewing or should I have not even bought it? 

Hi Ben ;) Welcome to the Lounge. :)

The main thing when your starting out, is Enjoy it. This really is a fantastic pastime, and if you have any questions ( And I promise you, you will have loads ;) ).

Then this is the right place to be. ;)