Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hi all. Can u use a webcam with a seben big boss?

fazerdenzil

Hi everyone, my name is Dean, i'm new to astronomy and have brought a seben 150 x 1400 big boss off of ebay for £90.

My question is this; can I use a webcam adapted to fit my big boss? I've stumbled upon a few things about the big boss these are as follows; after delivery I found it needed collimating so I brought a laser collimator for £25 also of ebay, then was told I had to take out the lens that was in the focuser, I did this then managed to collimate it (after removing the mirror and marking a centre spot, which I learnt from youtube!)

Then I found this isn't a very good telescope but hey it was in my price bracket!

I have a cmos webcam which I adapted to fit the focuser (again learnt from youtube) the results were out of focus on a street lamp as it was cloudy outside! (probably the weather is my fault because I brought a telescope! sorry to all of you 4 that! then I learnt that a ccd webcam was the tool to use! Is this the case?

if so I have to find one to use with windows 8 as that's what my notebook uses (according to rigistax I have the requirements to run registax on my notebook). Is registax a good program to use? or can anyone recommend a simple progame as i'm not exactly computer literate!!?

Would I need to remove the extra lens to use a webcam?

I would luv to hear from other seben users about their experiances with their scopes.

Once again hi to everyone and i'm very happy to be on board, i welcome any and all feedback. Regards, Dean

Welcome man :) i had a Seben the one for £50. Not knowing it was going to be bad, but Rubbish telescope is better then no telescope. I lasted last then two weeks and got the skywatcher 150PL but i see you had a better one then me :) i am pretty new to all of this to so sorry i cant help you with your webcam problem i'm pretty sure someone here will :) 

Welcome again dude and hope to see you around :)