Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

how will I know

I'm a complete beginner, I have been spending the afternoon looking a constellations, I can remember five so far, then I wanted to take a brief look into the messier objects within a constellation if any, my questions are this ,,, how will I know what I am seeing is def m36 ,or 37,and will I see any colour or do I need to buy additional equipment to see colour..... Thank you in advnce

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

try downloading this http://www.stellarium.org/ its a free programme that shows you what is visible in sky at the time you open the programme. you will see very little colour when viewing most objects in the sky. the exceptions are some double stars EG.Albiero and some of the planets, Mars, Jupiter, even with double stars the colours reported differ from person to person.

also what equipment sre using?

I'm also beginner, but as far as being sure of what you're looking at, I'd suggest downloading Stellarium. It's completely free and it has been an invaluable aid for me. Since long before I even got my scope.

There is a mobile version of Stellarium as well. Don't know if it's available for your tablet, but check whatever appstore you have. Failing that, there are several other programs like it. And if those doesn't work for you, you could always get a planisphere.

That's exactly what I wanted to hear with regards the scope, and have downloaded one or two apps for the tablet,,

regarding the scope a 200mm aperture has 77% more Light Gathering potential than 150mm, obviously it depends what your budget is.