Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hi, folks!

furrysocks

Hi, folks!

I'm new to star gazing and this forum so here's a quick introduction. I could probably do without the time/money drain of yet another distracting pastime but that said, I'm on the verge of beginning a build of an 8" dobs.

I once saw Halley's Comet when I was younger and knocked the guy's telescope off track. I've got an old 3-draw brass telescope - it's something like a 20x50 but I'm not sure. On the first day I got it, I watched gliders soaring a hill 20 miles away. Through it, I've seen the moon, the disc of Mars, Jupiter and the Galilean moons, the angle of Saturn's rings and the fuzz of M31 and M42. Recently, I've had it mounted in an "altazimuth" bike workstand from Lidl.

Shortly, I hope to take ownership of two preloved 8" mirrors, two flats and one mirror cell (reportedly taken from an old Charles Frank reflector a number of years ago - I'm assuming a working set plus spare). I believe the primaries to be approximately f/7.5. I have been told that the flats will need re-coated and that the primaries would benefit from the same. I expect that I'll start with one of the primaries as-is and get one or both re-coated at a later date, for comparison.

Not sure how much I'll be posting on here but will likely start a build thread in the next month or two. After a quick scope around for designs, I'm taken by Toshimi Taki's 8" dobs design, though my mount may differ.

I'm really looking forward to the first peer down my own scope - I don't really know what to expect. The anticipation itself is quite fun. ;)

Matt.

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Thanks to all for the warm welcome - a friendly bunch! :D

For those who might be interested, here's a summary of this past week for me to illustrate how I got to where I am now...